Ã…rhus Sinfonietta

Aarhus Sinfonietta is one of Denmark’s leading ensembles in new music and was founded in 1990 by a group of musicians from Aarhus Symphony Orchestra and Det Jyske Ensemble in collaboration with composer Hans Abrahamsen. There are 17 permanent members who cover all the instrument groups in a symphony orchestra. The ensemble’s members are employed in Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Aalborg Symphony Orchestra, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Midtvest and with the Royal Academy of Music Aarhus/Aalborg.

Aarhus Sinfonietta’s repertoire consists of pieces for large ensemble, chamber music and solo instruments. The main repertoire is new Danish music, often premiere performances and commissions by Danish composers. Aarhus Sinfonietta have premiered works by Per Nørgård, Karl Aage Rasmussen, Niels Rosing-Schow, Bent Sørensen, Simon Steen-Andersen, Thomas Agerfeldt Olesen, Bent Lorentzen, Ole Buck, Peter Bruun and Niels Marthinsen.

Aarhus Sinfonietta have worked with many prominent conductors and soloists, such as Elgar Howarth, Michel Tabachnik, Christian Lindberg, Rolf Hind, Tamás Vetö, Thomas Søndergård, Giordano Bellincampi and Morten Frank Larsen, and the ensemble have a long-standing working relationship with conductor Søren K. Hansen.

Aarhus Sinfonietta’s many CD-recordings include works by Poul Ruders, Per Nørgåd, Bent Lorentzen, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen, Mogens Christensen, Svend Nielsen, Tage Nielsen, Thomas Agerfeldt Olesen, Hans-Henrik Nordstrøm, Ligeti, Webern, Varèse, Takemitsu, Lutoslawski and Birtwistle.

Hjarne Fessel is the artistic director of Aarhus Sinfonietta.